Yet another newbie...first bike and LOST

Discussion in 'Beginners Forum' started by SwtFlamingo, Feb 13, 2018.

1. SwtFlamingo

SwtFlamingo New Member

Trying to do my research on getting my first bike... and i'm torn...i just don't know/understand the best choice for me.... hybrid or mountain? I have been to several shops around town and and even with their recommendations i'm still getting mixed answers on which to go for.

Im a complete newbie, honestly, have not ridden in years and have never had a bike better than a walmart special.... so i know anything is an improvement!

I test road a Trek Neko 2 and am looking to test a few other brands later this week (a friend recommended the brand Cannondale -he has a hardtail mountain). Like i was saying though... not riding in forever and not having really anything to compare to i'm not sure if i would know good from bad. So i really hope you guys can help me firm up a plan!

i live in town backed up to several parks for trail riding (some gravel/ some paved, and im sure more options for even more rough terrain)... which i think will be my primary use. I don't see me taking any crazy trails/jumps/downhills but i like the ability to grow into the bike as i get more confident. i also don't see me using it on the street that heavily... but i like the idea of the occasional ability. There is one event coming up later this year where a friend is running a road relay and the team is looking for riders to ride support to the runners at night and such. I was considering doing that....and if i can use my bike, great.

I hope to find something reasonable in price/quality, not low end/basic but not something i will grow out of quickly. This is a complete new thing for me.... and im hoping to stick with this and get more into riding, but i dont have the ability to sink a great deal into a "new hobby" just yet. So an advice is greatly appreciated!!

fpl1 and John_V like this.
  2. newleaf150